The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

By Parker Clark

I play baseball all year. When baseball is over, I play football. But when football is over, deer season has come underway.

Don’t get me wrong; I love baseball and I love football, but there is nothing I would rather do than deer hunt. The preparation, the dedication–everything mentally challenging about hunting makes it all worth it when you take a mature deer.

Late September, early October, the preparation for deer season begins. We all go down to the lease and mow lanes to look down, disc up and plant food plots, and kill all of the wasps in our stands. It’s normally hot and its not all fun and games. But some of it is. I enjoy going down to my lease and just hanging out with all of the members. I enjoy the camaraderie and storytelling. I enjoy riding my ATV around and checking things out.

Deer season is an exciting time of year, and as I said, there’s nothing I’d rather do. But getting up and getting in the deer stand every morning before daylight, sitting there for hours, and hoping to get a chance to harvest a mature white-tail… it becomes a grind. It gets old. I get to the point where I just want to sleep in. I don’t though. Heck no. I never know when that big, mature white-tail is going to walk out; no one does. That’s why I do it. That’s why I grind it out all year, for that chance, that one chance at a monster buck. It makes it worth it when my heart is thumping and my adrenaline is through the roof.

I’m not saying that hunting is for everybody. Some people may think it’s cruel, but personally I think it’s necessary. Without hunting the population of deer would get too high, which would lead to an unhealthy deer herd. For this reason alone, to not hunt is cruel.

Deer season is my favorite time of year. Everything about it makes me unbelievably happy. This year, on the first day of deer season you will be able to look at me and know one thing: I’m the happiest kid in the world.

Leave a Reply

