Watching the Wizard

By Monica Liang

On our recent SPARC trip to Chicago, our group saw many shows. One of my favorite shows that we saw was “The Wizard of Oz.”

The songs were unique, yet catchy. I particularly liked the song “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” very much. It’s very classic but is very memorable; I cannot stop singing it! I also liked the songs that the Scarecrow, Tin Man and Lion sang about not having a brain/heart/courage.

The play’s sets were very interesting and unique, which I liked a lot. It made me feel that I was really in the scene with the actors. I liked the effect of the smoke to show the poison of the poppies. I also liked how the rainbow would change colors and the difference between the sets in Kansas and Oz.

My favorite characters were the Lion, Tin Man and Scarecrow. They all have their dreams and never give up. I thought the dog, Toto, was really cute. My favorite part of the play was at the end when the Scarecrow, Tin Man and Lion get what they most want in life.

I liked the choreography that was used in the dance sequences. I think the best dances were “Ding-Dong the Witch is Dead” and “The Merry Old Land of Oz.” I also liked it when the Wicked Witch of the West came down the aisle next to the people.

There was nothing in this play that I didn’t like. Even though I already knew the story, the play still kept my attention. I think it was very well cast and directed. I thought that it had very strong performers and it was a good story. I hope that I can see it again sometime.

Leave a Reply

