Book Review: Divergent Series


The three books in the trilogy.

By Hayley Dumesnil

The book series in the news right now is the Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth. The series consists of Divergent, Insurgent, and Allegiant. The series is about a post apocalyptic war in the United States and the main compound is in what used to be Chicago.

The story is told in the point of view of Beatrice Prior. In the compound, there are five factions: Abnegation, Erudite, Amity, Candor, and Dauntless. Each faction is known for certain characteristics and traits. Teenagers have the option to switch factions once they are old enough. I don’t want to give too much away, but it basically follows the life of a young girl who is told she’s different and what she has to do to protect that secret, but she’s not alone.

This book series had me hooked from the second I began reading it (I can thank Morgan Fore for telling me about it). You never know what is going to happen and it catches you by surprise at times. It also can have you on an emotional rollercoaster from time to time. I just couldn’t put the books down. I read the whole trilogy in about a week or two during the end of the fall semester and it has to be one of my favorites.

You would enjoy this book if you enjoyed The Hunger Games because this book trilogy is kind of similar in the way that it is written, but it has a different plot and story. I loved the whole trilogy and I would recommend that you read it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s